After Disastrous IPL Campaign, Riyan Parag To Represent Indian Team In Asia Cup 2023

After Disastrous IPL Campaign, Riyan Parag To Represent Indian Team In Asia Cup 2023

Riyan Parag has had a disastrous outing in this year's Indian Premier League. After his consistent performances in domestic circuit and earlier seasons of IPL, many believed that he would get a call-up from the Indian team soon.

In IPL 2022, Riyan Parag had scored 183 runs at a strike-rate of over 138 while playing the role of the finisher. He also had a productive season in the domestic circuit. Expectations were high from him in IPL 2023 but he failed completely. The right-handed batsman played only 7 games in IPL 2023 and managed to score a modest 78 runs.

Following his poor performances, he had faced heavy criticism from the fans. Throughout the IPL, the Rajasthan Royals youngster was heavily trolled on Twitter as he kept failing with the bat.

Riyan Parag gets big opportunity:

Few weeks after his disastrous campaign in IPL 2023, Riyan Parag has got a golden opportunity to turn things around. The Assam star has been named in the India A squad for ACC Men’s Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2023. The tournament will be played from from 13th to 23rd July in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Riyan Parag will have the opportunity to impress the selectors in the Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2023. A good performance in the tournament will surely boost his chances of earning a call-up from the senior team. He is likely to be a key member of the India A squad in the competition.

Meanwhile, a total of eight teams will be participating in the tournament.  India A are placed in Group B with Nepal, UAE A and Pakistan A while Sri Lanka A, Bangladesh A, Afghanistan A and Oman A form Group A. The top two teams from each group will make it to the semifinal.

India A squad:

Sai Sudharsan, Abhishek Sharma (VC), Nikin Jose, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, Yash Dhull (C), Riyan Parag, Nishant Sindhu, Prabhsimran Singh (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Manav Suthar, Yuvrajsinh Dodiya, Harshit Rana, Akash Singh, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Rajvardhan Hangargekar