Cricket In Asian Games 2023: Winners List From 2010 To 2023

Cricket In Asian Games 2023: Winners List From 2010 To 2023

Asian Games Cricket Winners List: The upcoming Asian Games 2023 will be a special one for the cricket fans in India as their beloved Team India will finally make their maiden appearance in the sporting extravaganza. The highly-anticipated continental event will be played at Hangzhou, China, from September 23 to October 8, 2023.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has already announced that both men's and women's team will be traveling to China this year for the upcoming games. Cricket does not have a rich history in Asian Games. It was only in 2010 that it made its maiden appearance at the event. It was also cricket's first appearance in a major multi-sport event since the 1998 Commonwealth Games.

India, however, decided against participating in the Asian Games in 2010 as well as 2014. The reason behind it was the tight scheduling. And in 2018, cricket was dropped from the 2018 Asian Games in Indonesia. But the gentlemne's game is now all set to make a grand return in the Asian Games this year. With India confirming their participation in the event, cricket is likely to garner a lot of attention in Asian Games 2023.

Asian Games Cricket Winners list:

Cricket has been played at the Asian Games only twice so far - 2010 and 2014. It made its debut in the continental sporting event in 2010. The matches were played in T20 format with both men and women's team competing. In the men's event, a total of 9 teams participated - hosts China, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Nepal and Maldives.

In 2014 too, 9 teams took part in the Asian Games. In 2010, Bangladesh and Afghanistan locked horns against each other in the final for the gold medal. Bangladesh thrashed Afghanistan by 5 wickets to clinch the first-ever gold medal in cricket in the Asian Games. Pakistan, on the other hand, won the Bronze medal after defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets.

Asian Games 2010 final standing:

Team Played Won Lost Tied NR
Bangladesh 3 3 0 0 0
Afghanistan 3 2 1 0 0
Pakistan 3 2 1 0 0
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 0 0
China 2 0 2 0 0
Hong Kong 3 2 1 0 0
Malaysia 2 1 1 0 0
Nepal 3 1 2 0 0
Maldives 2 0 2 0 0

Four years later, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan were up against each other in the final and the latter ended up on the wrong side of the result once again. Sri Lanka won the final to clinch the gold medal while Afghanistan ended their campaign with a silver medal for the second time in a row. Bangladesh finished at the third spot and went home with the bronze medal.

Asian Games 2014 final standings:

Team Played Won Lost Tied NR
Sri Lanka 3 2 0 0 1
Afghanistan 3 2 1 0 0
Bangladesh 3 2 0 0 1
Hong Kong 3 1 2 0 0
Kuwait 3 0 2 0 1
Malaysia 3 2 1 0 0
Nepal 3 2 1 0 0
South Korea 3 1 2 0 0
China 2 0 2 0 0
Maldives 2 0 1 0 1

Asian Games winners list:

Year Winner (Gold) Runner-up (Silver) Third Place (Bronze)
2010 Bangladesh Afghanistan Pakistan
2014 Sri Lanka Afghanistan Bangladesh
2023 - - -


Is cricket included in Asian Games
Yes, cricket is a part of the Asian Games. It made its maiden appearance in the Games in 2010 and was played in 2014 too before being dropped in 2018. However, it will return to Asian Games in 2023
When was cricket introduced in Asian Games?
Cricket was first introduced in the Asian Games in 2010. A total of 9 teams had participated in that event.
Why does not India play cricket in Asian Games?
India decided against playing in the Asian Games in 2010 and 2014 because of its tight schedule in international cricket. India, however, will make their debut in the Asian Games in 2023.